atDNA #2 [dna-land]

My previous post atDNA [86-8-6] in regards to autsomal DNA research was mainly based on FamilyTreeDNA results (FamilyFinder test) and my analysis. This post is about more atDNA results I achieved during 2015/2016 time period, specifically by DNA.LAND service.

UPD: This post contains old data/information based on DNA.land Ancestry report from 2015, apr-2016 and oct-22-2016.

In Apr-2016 my main Ancestry Composition pie chart looked in this way. But I re-uploaded raw data in Oct-2016 and here we are – new pie chart:

dna-land-pie-chart-344010_new_oct-2016

 

Still not quite sure about years, time ranges for this kind of tests. But it’s definitely not a few years ago, but hundreds and thousands years ago.

 

DNA.LAND – is the website/service – https://dna.land where you can upload your raw data, which you may have received from FTDNA or 23andme services/test results.

In Nov 2015 I uploaded raw data to DNA.land, and after some time, on website I received results.

Ancestry Composition

Results are a bit different comparing to FTDNA. This is old version of pie chart (good that I stored it time ago in 2015 🙂 ):

dna-land-percentage

On Apr-09-2016, I discovered that DNA.LAND has updated “Ancestry Composition” chart. Here is post on Facebook.

Introducing the new DNA.Land ancestry inference report!

– A more accurate algorithm
– Hierarchical breakout of ancestry
– Interactive map
– Explaining the reference populations
– Exploring matches to reference populations.

 

And now, my new pie chart of ancestry admixture looks differently:

dna-land-percentage_NEW_344010_3

What changed?

  1. In general, new chart shows me now, that I’m 100% West Eurasian. And it’s true, due to my West Ukrainian ancestry with potential Slovak/Polish/Belorussian/Lithuanian admixture. Old chart did not have it.
  2. Besides, new chart has some level uncertainty inside of Western Eurasian group – Ambiguous 6.3 %. In regards to this Ambiguous DNA.LAND states, that:

    West Eurasian is a very general category containing Arab/Egyptian, Ashkenazi/Levantine, Central Asian, Northeast European, South Asian, South European, North/central European, Southwestern European and Central Indoeuropean.

    By the way #1, it reminds my FTDNA atDNA results in regards to Middle East (6%).

  3. Old data was in details about:
    • North/East European part of 58.17% and
    • South/Western European 13.43% and
    • South European 8.56% and
    • North/Central European 8.19 %
      (which is 88.35% of European in total)

    now split into North European 64% and South European 24%. Now it’s 64+24 = 88% European.

    By the way #2, FTDNA atDNA results state, that I’m 86% European. Now, DNA.LAND and FTDNA results are much closer. I consider, that different numbers 88.35 or 88 and 86 are are in scope of allowed mistakes.
    By the way #3, FTDNA yDNA results gives me race recognition as:

    • I-M423-Din-N =>73% (Dinaric, North)
    • I-M423-Din-S =>27% (Dinaric, South)

    which reminds me this atDNA ancestry a bit.
    More detail, u may find on my old but on-going post about  i2a1b2a1 aka I-CTS10228

  4. In scope of North European, vast majority of my atDNA relates to North Slavic population, which is obvious and expected.
  5. New chart gives me really NEW information in regards to 21% Southern European ancestry. And according DNA.LAND, it

    includes: Italian/Bergamo, Italian/Tuscan and Toscani in (Bergamo, Tuscany and 1 other site) Italy

    I don’t have any official relations with Italian ancestry, but I may only guess, that time ago, some Italian DNA relocated to West of Ukraine 🙂
    By the way #4, small spoiler – my mother atDNA refers to 15% Italian. More will be in one of my next posts.

  6. Still, DNA.LAND has no data/information about Ambiguous 2.3% of South European in regards to my atDNA data. They states:

    South European is a general category containing Italian and Balkan

  7. Old chart showed me 11.65 % Ashkenazi/Levantine admixture. Since that time, this “Levantine” is still mystery for me along with Ashkenazi for sure.

    Levantines or Franco-Levantines are Latin Christians who lived under the Ottoman Empire.

    Before my DNA tests, before 2014 year, I did not even think that I may have some Jewish or Ashkenazi or Levantine DNA. Reality of European life is cruel, so we have to admit it.
    But new chart shows me now Ashkenazi 5.7% as sub-pie of expected bigger group Ashkenazi/Levantine. DNA.LAND states, that this region/pie-chart-section

    includes: Ashkenazi Jew in Poland and Ashkenazi Jew from East Europe especially Lithuania (expat in Baltimore MD)

    So I’m wondering, where my 5.95% Ashkenazi composition? I guess, from old data “Ashkenazi/Levantine 11.65%” DNA.LAND extracted Ambiguous 6.3 % and Ashkenazi 5.7% and showed them as separate.

    By the way #5, now after comparing Levantine and South European data, the text from Wikipedia, becomes more clear:

    Levantines were mostly of Italian (especially Venetian and Genoese), French, or other Euro-Mediterranean origin. They have been living in the eastern Mediterranean coast of Lebanon and Syria since the middle Byzantine or the Ottoman era and Constantinople/Istanbul, Smyrna/Izmir and other parts of Anatolia (in present-day Turkey).

    Isn’t it the algorithm DNA.LAND using to relate Levantine/Ashkenazi and Italians people? This is kinda question to DNA.LAND.

In Oct-22-2016 I re-uploaded my raw data to DNA.land, and results changed:

dna_land_andrii_lundiak_2016_oct_new

  • old Ambiguous 2.3% in South European became Balkan 3.8% and together with South/Central European 29% they define “South European” 33% with is more than by previous old logic.
  • old Ambiguous 6.3% in West Eurasian segment became Northwest European 2%
  • old Ashkenazi 5.7% became Ambiguous 1.6%, and DNA.land says:

    We found no specific Ashkenazi ancestry, nor Ashkenazi/Levantine ancestry, but we did find 1.6% ambiguous West Eurasian ancestry, which could be Ashkenazi.

  • And I think it clarifies something, but also kinda “hide” my very low level/amount DNA matches.

 

Ancestry Map

Additionally, there is map, where we can see some cross-countries relations. Interesting point for me here, that North Slavic 64% yellow region is mainly concentrated in Lithuania and Belorussian. This is snapshot of map on Apr-2016:

dna-land_NORTH-SLAVIC-64

And regarding South European, it’s Italian ancestry for 21%. New for me, by DNA.LAND results.

dna-land_ITALIAN-21%

 

DNA.land has very good point about Ashkenazi. Quote:

The Ashkenazi are displayed specially because they do not have a territory of their own, but live amidst unrelated peoples.

My Ashkenazi region is 5.7% – the hot yellow color.

Includes: Ashkenazi Jew in Poland and Ashkenazi Jew from East Europe especially Lithuania (expat in Baltimore MD)

dna-land_ASHKENAZI-5.7%

And this is kind top question for me during 2015/2016 years period.I want to understand, on which level of my ancestry I received Ashkenazi DNA and from whom exactly. So far, no 100% data, but I know now for sure, they were somewhere from Poland. And I continue my research, being now in Kraków. 🙂 Cześć 🙂

On Oct-22-2016 I’ve got an update – I re-uploaded raw data, and received a bit different map – no explicit mention Ashkenazi:

dna_land_ancestry_map_andrii_lundiak_new_oct-22-2016

Details

Besides chart, and map now we have text description of ancestry areas. Here is snapshot on Apr-09-2016 (there is text about Ashkenazi as explicit ancestry area) and below is the latest on Oct-22-2016:

dna-land-pie-chart-description_new_oct-22-2016

 

Outcome/Conclusion

  • This Ancestry Composition is very good tool for my genealogical (which now became genetics also) research. And it helps me to understand who am I in scope of belonging to ethnicity, in scope of history of my land, where I born and in scope of my country to know history better and make proper decisions in future.
  • But considering they have updates which sometimes give different and not obvious and not very intuitive results, I kinda in doubt about DNA.land as a company.

 

PS. I plan to post in nearest future a few related posts, they are not yet fully ready.

 

Resources:

[1] – What is Ancestry? – post on Medium (Feb-16-2016).

2 thoughts on “atDNA #2 [dna-land]

  1. Hello, Andrii. Don’t pay too much attention to the south components of DNA.land, because they float from one to another without any consistent pattern.
    There are the result of mine and two my great uncles (from different lines, of course) and as you can see all of them have different results:



    If it had worked correctly, I would have had something marked as Sardinian or Italian, but I haven’t got it.
    So at least now it shows just a “vector” or direction, not something particular.

    • @Val, agree, this is good point. And I don’t pay attention too much. I know that this is kinda approximate results, and I always expect some level of uncertainty or mistakes. But sill, I open in regards to analysis and discussion. Or even some other services to upload atDNA raw data and have a look what they have. So far I have results from GEDMATCH, Promethease and Prosapia.

Leave a Reply

